July 2018 Newsletter

Dear APSS Members,

The Arthur Purdy Stout Society of Surgical Pathologists is pleased to present its first newsletter! We intend to provide Society updates through this means and encourage membership participation in our various offerings throughout the year. We’d also like to invite our current members to nominate new members to the Society and to share with their trainees who have a demonstrated interest in academic surgical pathology the opportunity to join the Society as a junior member.

Welcome to our newest members: Dr. Ranjan Agrawal, Professor, Department of Pathology, Rohilkhand Medical College & Hospital, Bareilly Uttar Pradesh, India; May Chan, M.D., Associate Professor of Pathology and Dermatology, Director of Immunohistochemistry, University of Michigan; Justin A. Bishop, M.D., Associate Professor of Pathology, Director of Surgical Pathology, Clements University Hospital, Director of Head and Neck Pathology, UT Southwestern Medical Center and Valerie A. Fitzhugh, M.D., Associate Professor and Associate Director, Residency Program, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, University Hospital, New Jersey Medical School, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey.

The 2018 APSS Annual Meeting at the USCAP meeting in Vancouver, Canada, entitled “What you see is what you get; let the gross examination be your guide” was moderated by Program Committee Chairs, Vania Nose, MD, Associate Chief, Anatomic and Molecular Pathology at Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston and Rhonda Yantiss, MD, Chief, Gastrointestinal Pathology at Weill Cornell Medicine, New York. Presenters were challenged to discuss how incoporation of the gross pathologic findings influences the overall pathologic assessment of surgical resection specimens, with particular reference to staging issues introduced by the 8th edition of the AJCC Cancer Staging Manual and the effects of neoadjuvant therapies on gross and microscopic findings. An impressive roster of speakers tackled the topic including Stuart Schnitt, MD, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston; Wendy Frankel, MD, The Ohio State University, Columbus; Peter Sadow, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston; Jeffrey Myers, MD, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor; and Michael Klein, MD, The Hospital for Special Surgery, New York.

The APSS Council would like to extend its thanks to Dr. Nose for her contributions as the Program Committee Co-Chair and to introduce Dr. Andrew Folpe as the incoming Co-Chair for 2018.


 The APSS was honored to present the 2018 President’s Award to Dr. Ronald DeLellis,  Professor of Pathology at Brown University, Providence, RI, in recongnition of his enormous contributions in surgical pathology and in particular, the fields of endocrine pathology and immunohistochemistry. Dr. DeLellis has authored hundreds of papers as well as numerous books and chapters. He is a valued mentor and teacher, and he has contributed generously with service to national pathology societies and committees, including serving as President of the Endocrine Pathology Society as well as USCAP.

The 2018 APSS Prize was awarded to Dr. Oluwole Fadare, Professor of Pathology UCSD, San Diego, CA. Dr. Fadare’s clinical practice centers on gynecologic and breast pathology with investigative endeavors focused on gynecologic pathology. As a young investigator, Dr. Fadare has made substantive and tangible contributions to the practice of surgical pathology and the better understanding of various pathologic entities.

The APSS will be providing additional programming this year in collaboration with the European Society of Pathology at the European Congress of Pathology in Bilbao, Spain on 11th September, 2018 entitled “That is One Case I will Never Forget” with Drs. Thomas Brenn, Justin Bishop, Anna Sapino, Andrew Folpe and Glenn McCluggage, and at the ASCP in Baltimore, MD on 5th October, 2018 entitled “Cutting Edge Surgical Pathology for the Practicing Pathologist” with Drs. Scott Owens, Debra Zynger, Ira Bleiweiss, Krisztina Hanley and Dan Milner.

In addition, the Society will be presenting its inaugral Interactive Microscopy meeting in collaboration with the USCAP in Palm Springs, CA, on October 26-29th. The spectrum of surgical pathology will be covered by experts in their respective fields including topics on breast, gastrointestinal, gynecologic, genitourinary, dermatopathology, soft tissue pathology, head and neck pathology and lung pathology. We encourage you to join us for one or both of these sessions at The Powers Sanchez USCAP Interactive Microscopy Center! Click on the image for the schedule or the link below to register.


Each year the APSS offers stipends to trainees wishing to spend one month with an Arthur Purdy Stout Society Member at another institution gaining additional experience in a subspecialty area of surgical pathology. This year the APSS Council voted to increase the stipend amount to $3500/month. Four stipends will be awarded each year. Applicants should apply through the website by year end and must be sponsored by an APSS member at their home institution. Dr. Adeboye Osunkoya, Emory University, is the Chair of the Awards Committee.

The APSS is soliciting nominations for the 2019 Arthur Purdy Stout Prize to be awarded at the 2019 Spring USCAP Meeting. The prize, in the amount of $2500, is awarded annually to a surgical pathologist under the age of 45. The prize is intended to recognize significant career achievements in Surgical Pathology by young surgical pathologists whose research publications, whether clinical or basic, have had a major impact on diagnostic pathology. Nominations may be submitted through the website to Dr. Osunkoya.

Finally, the APSS has updated its website to allow for easier navigation of society activities and membership renewal. We are also opening up a junior membership category to trainees interested in pursuing academic surgical pathology; trainees who have presented abstracts at USCAP meetings are encouraged to apply.

Thank you for your ongoing support of the Arthur Purdy Stout Society of Surgical Pathologists. We look forward to seeing you at one of our upcoming meetings and welcome correspondence from our membership.


Laura C. Collins, M.D.

President, APSS

Vice Chair of Anatomic Pathology, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Professor of Pathology, 

Harvard Medical School

Boston, MA

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software